CBS All Access sets new Star Trek Series starring Anson Mount as Captain Pike


Star Trek: Strange New Worlds

CBS All Access has ordered a series for Star Trek: Strange New Worlds (ST: SNW). The series will star Anson Mount as Captain Christopher Pike, Rebecca Romijn as Number One and Ethan Peck as Science Officer Spock. ST: SNW will bet set aboard the U.S.S. Enterprise one decade before James T. Kirk's turn as Captain of the legendary starship. 

The characters themselves are not new to the Star Trek universe. They were first introduced in the unaired pilot of the original series, "The Cage." Captain Pike was first portrayed by Jeffrey Hunter. His second in command was played by Majel Barrett. Leonard Nimoy portrayed Spock. Spock was the only main character to survive the rejected first pilot. 
Neither footage nor story of "The Cage" went to waste. Most of it was used in the Season One two-part episode "The Menagerie" (1966). "The Cage" did not air on television in its entirety until 1988 as part of a reintroduction to the franchise after Star Trek: The Next Generation began.

The characters were reintroduced in Season 2 of Star Trek: Discovery. The three also featured in season 2 of Star Trek: Short Treks, a series of shorts that fills character backstories and connects points between episodes. Anson, Romijn, and Peck were praised by fans and critics for their work in revitalizing these characters. Fans especially were enamored. They wanted what some considered a long-overdue Captain Pike spin-off.
Executive vice president and CBS All Access programming head, Julie McNamara said, "This new series will be a perfect complement to the franchise, bringing a whole new perspective and series of adventures to Star Trek."

This series will be produced by CBS Television Studios, Secret Hideout, and Roddenberry Entertainment. Akiva Goldsman, Alex Kurtzman, and Jenny Lumet have created the story for the series premiere. All three will serve as executive producers on the show. Joining them in the executive producer role will be Henry Alonso Myers, Heather Kadin, Rod Roddenberry, and Trevor Roth. Co-executive producers will be Aaron Baiers, Akela Cooper, and Davy Perez. 

Kurtzman and CBS acknowledged their fan's love for Pike, Number One, and Spock with this show's announcement. "These iconic characters have a deep history in Star Trek canon, yet so much of their stories have yet to be told. With Akiva and Henry at the helm, the Enterprise, its crew, and its fans are in for an extraordinary journey to new frontiers in the Star Trek universe," says Kurtzman. 

ST: SNW is part of the continued expansion of the Star Trek television universe as envisioned by Alex Kurtzman starting in 2018 as part of a five-year deal with CBS TV Studios. In 2019, CBS doubled down on the franchise with the formation of its "Star Trek" Global Franchise Group. The Global Franchise group focuses mainly on newer media and digital spaces.

This series will join other franchise hits, Star Trek: Picard (ST: PIC), Star Trek: Discovery (ST: DSC), and the soon to be released Star Trek: Lower Decks (ST: LOW). ST: LOW is an animated series developed by Emmy Award winner Mike McMahan of Rick and Morty fame. In development is a series with Michelle Yeoh based on Section 31 (working title Wind Cleaver). There is also a CG-animated series aimed at younger audiences for Nickelodeon. The expansion continues. 

KYSTRA: Know Your Star Trek Retronyms & Acronyms

New to the Star Trek Universe? Confused by all of the abbreviations and retronyms? Below is a master list of what you need to know. This list includes movies as well.
 Type  Title  Dates  Abbreviation
Original, unaired pilot The Cage 1964 ST: TC
TV Series  Star Trek, retronym: Star Trek: The Original Series 1966 -  1969 ST: TOS
Animated TV Series  Star Trek: The Animated Series 1973 - 1974 ST: TAS
Film Star Trek: The Motion Picture  1979  ST: TMP 
Film Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan   1982 ST: WOK 
Film  Star Trek III: The Search for Spock  1984 ST: SFS 
Film  Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home  1986  ST: TVH
 TV Series Star Trek: The Next Generation   1987 - 1994 ST: TNG 
 Film  Star Trek V: The Final Frontier  1989 ST: TFF 
 Film  Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country  1991 ST: TUC 
 TV Series Star Trek: Deep Space Nine   1993 - 1999  ST: DS9
 Film  Star Trek: Generations  1994 ST: GEN 
 TV Series  Star Trek: Voyager  1995 - 2001 ST: VOY 
 Film  Star Trek: First Contact  1996  ST: FCT
 Film Star Trek: Insurrection   1998 ST: INS 
 TV Series Star Trek: Enterprise   2001 - 2005  ST: ENT
 Film  Star Trek: Nemesis  2002 ST: NEM 
 Film Star Trek (2009)   2009 ST09 
 Film  Star Trek Into Darkness  2013 STID 
 Film  Star Trek Beyond  2016 STB 
 Streaming Series  Star Trek: Discovery 2017 -  ST: DSC 
 Streaming Series  Star Trek: Picard  2020 -  ST: PIC
 Streaming Series  Star Trek: Short Treks  2018 -  ST: ST
 Animated Streaming Series  Star Trek: Lower Decks  2020 ST: LOW 
Streaming Series  Star Trek: Strange New Worlds TBD   ST: SNW*